Lilis Summer 2016 Essentials

Heyho people (I swear I’m not one of the 7 dwarfs),

how are you on this magnificent day? I feel like I don’t ask you that question enough. I hope you’re all well and happy and had nice breakfast today and a good nights sleep and that school or college isn’t too much of a burden.
In case it is, just focus on something better like Ben and Jerrys ice cream, James Franco or Mila Kunis or if that’s not for you, what about summer? It’s almost there and I so cannot wait. Summer is just my favorite season, I know a lot of people like autumn (All about that pumpkin spice!) or spring (flowers are pretty awesome) better but I do actually prefer summer. Not only is my birthday in summer (that’s basically the best thing ever cause I can celebrate outside every single year) but it’s also time for holidays and nice days by the sea.
But before you guys hit the seashore I advice you to have a look at my top summer essentials! Because you’ll need them, it’s pretty self explanatory as they’re essential. Very much essential!
So grab yourself some chilled strawberry lemonade and enjoy some light reading 🙂

  1. Fashion Essentials
    You’ve probably seen many of my fashion essentials in my coachella post so go check that one out if you like! (I’m digging those paragraph one, section a formats!)
  • a) Bikini, bathing suit, etc.
    • A nice bikini or bathing suit should be an obvious essential. You should always keep in mind that you feel confident in it and fierce as heck! About that bikini body: Just put a bikini on, voila! You’ve got a Bikini Body 🙂
      Cute ones that I like:
Bildschirmfoto 2016-05-13 um 08.33.47.png

Get the top here and the bottoms here

Bildschirmfoto 2016-05-13 um 08.37.14.png

Get it here

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • b) Those Festival Shorts
    • I talked about festival fashion in my post about Coachella already so you can check those looks out. My advice is you invest in a cute jeans shorts because they never get old. Don’t be afraid to show your legs. Mine resemble a glass of milk and I just don’t give a f*** so you shouldn’t as well.
  • c) Varsity and Bomber Jackets
    • I love them, they’re almost as cool as jeans jackets (if you don’t own one then go buy one, now! Because you’ll love and cherish it.) They make you look sporty and as if you just came out of a „Bring It On“ Cheerleader movie. I like to pair them up with my flowy uniform like skirt and some trainers. Also if it gets chilly when you’re out and about with your pals you have a fashionably acceptable jacket to put on. I just purchased one at Stradivarius when I was in Amsterdam.
Bildschirmfoto 2016-05-12 um 22.17.19.png

The Bomber Jacket I got from stradivarius, get it here

Bildschirmfoto 2016-05-12 um 22.38.32.png

If you like it a bit more subtle get this bomber jacket here 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • d) Flowy Dresses
    • Again, those were in my Coachella post but I know a lot of girls who don’t own nice and flowy summer dresses and I honestly don’t get it. Not only can they make you look sexy or adorable or classy or elegant, basically however you want to look like but your legs also don’t sweat! And you can feel that nice summer breeze around your legs. Then again I basically live in dresses and skirts, so maybe that’s just me.

 

2. Beauty Essentials

  • a) Avene Thermal Spring Water Spray
    • This is great! It’s the best! I swear on this product, it has my complete trust and I’d probably kill for it. But really it’s gentle on sensitive skin, still leaves it refreshed and it smells awesome. Just go and check it out.
Bildschirmfoto 2016-05-12 um 21.22.06.png

Get it here 

  • b) Marc Jacobs Fragrances: Cotton, Cucumber and Rain
    • Again, I swear on these! They don’t have a too intense scent, but really smell like they’re described, like cotton, cucumber and rain. I personally prefer cotton as I like to smell as if I just came out of the washing machine. I like how they’re really not too heavy and don’t have too many confusing scents combined. Heavy fragrances just don’t belong into summer. (I gotta add that I love all the Marc Jacobs Perfumes, there is not one that I would say smells horrible and that I can’t stand.)

Click on the link to get the fragrances: Rain, Cucumber and Cotton

 

  • c) Lancome Doll Eyes Mascara
    • You’ll look like you have full lashes after 1 to 2 coats and that’s reason enough for me to love it, especially during summer. I really don’t bother a lot with Make Up during summer so just a tiny bit of Mascara is my go to make up look during summer (along with tinted moisturizer, even better if it has SPF, and maybe a cute light pink lipstick). If you like waterproof mascara then go you! Because you can probably spend a day at the pool or sweat full on and still look on fleek, you win at life my love!
Bildschirmfoto 2016-05-12 um 22.07.03.png

Get it here 

3. Books and Music

This should be Allis part but I’ll let her get inspired by my suggestions and maybe she’ll write a review about one of the books I chose. You can let us know in the comments or on our social media what you’d like to have a review of so I won’t concentrate on doing a detailed review.

  • a) „Amys and Rogers Epic Detour“ by Morgan Matson
    • I love Morgan Matsons books (you should go check out „Since You’ve Been Gone“ as well) but this book is by far my favorite one of hers. It focuses on Amy and Roger going on a road trip planned by Amys mum to get their car from California to their new home in Connecticut. Only problem: The road trip planned by Amys mum is incredibly boring and Amy has experienced a traumatic event and is afraid to drive. So we basically follow Amy and Roger taking a detour, getting in trouble and developing a lovely relationship. I won’t say anything else apart from that the descriptions of the states they drive through are beautiful, you can really picture yourself sitting in the car with them. What I also like are all the cute pages added with Playlists and pictures as if we had a look into Amys travel diary. It’s a light book, brilliant for a chilled summer day outside.
Bildschirmfoto 2016-05-12 um 22.09.21.png

Get it on amazon

  • b) „Looking For Alaska“ by John Green
    • This may not be as much of a light read as „Amys and Rogers Epic Detour“ for the reason that the thematic of the book is a bit more difficult. Nevertheless you can read it quite fast (I read it in one day) but it leaves you with loads of questions and thoughts on life, which I like. John Green just is the master of YA novels and writes them without portraying teenagers as some weird aliens that need to be analyzed by psychologists and sociologists (had to bring in what I’ll become after I finish Uni… but I’ll be an aweosome sociologist! I promise!). Also I have to say that Alaska Young probably is, apart from Katniss Everdeen, Olivia Vertigo (from the Charlie Bone series) and Hermione Granger, one of my favorite fictional characters. Fun Fact: I’m pretty keen on naming my future daughter Luna Alaska (rad name huh?)
Bildschirmfoto 2016-05-12 um 22.11.08.png

Get it on amazon

  • c) My Summer 2016 Playlist
    • As a treat I created a Summer 2016 Playlist for you on the blogs spotify account. You can find it by clicking this link or just search for castawayminds on spotify. In case you don’t have spotify here are all the songs 🙂
 Happy Lil Hippie -Cody Simpson
 Permanent Vacation - 5 Seconds Of Summer
 New Romantics - Taylor Swift
 American Honey - Lady Antebellum
 Cruise - Florida Georgia Line
 Eighteen Cool - Hoodie Allen
 Chocolate - The 1975
 Flower - Cody Simpson
 San Francisco - 5 Seconds of Summer
 Ain’t Gotta Work - Hoodie Allen
 Act My Age - Hoodie Allen
 Disconnected - 5 Seconds of Summer
 Holiday - Green Day
 Gold Rush - Ed Sheeran
 Stolen Dance - Milky Chance

4. Obvious Essentials

So don’t get me wrong, I don’t think you’re too stupid to think of these yourselves but lets be real, in the euphoric of packing for a day out during summer you often forget these basic essentials

  • Sun Screen
    • Please, please always take your sunscreen with you and even if you think you won’t get a sunburn just apply it anyway. Sunshine rays can be incredibly harming to the skin and you may think „well I’m only staying outside for a couple of minutes“ or „it’s cloudy anyway“. But let me tell you: First of all I’ve gotten million of sunburns because I thought it was cloudy enough and secondly the UV light doesn’t really care if it’s cloudy or not. It’s harming your skin not only making it age faster and causing wrinkles earlier but it also can cause skin cancer. So don’t forget to put on sunscreen before(!) you go into the sun, it does need some time to sink into your skin and actually be able to protect you.
  • Sunglasses
    • Just like the skin can get harmed from the UV light, so can your eyes. Expensive, well produced sunglasses are actually more important than just serving as a fashion accessory. By looking at the writing inside the side pieces of your sunglasses you can determine the amount of UV light they hold off. It ranges from 1 to 4, 1 implying that it’s only a fashion accessory, holding back up to 10% of harmful rays and 4 being the highest, usually for people with special needs as they keep around 90% of harmful rays to reach your eyes. You’re also probably not allowed to drive if you’re wearing them.
  • Water!!!
    • Remember to stay hydrated during summer, it not only keeps your body moving and working, it also makes your skin look much healthier and clears it up and it keeps your metabolism high so that you can actually burn calories just because you’re staying hydrated and if that’s not a plus then I don’t know what is.

So that was my list on my summer essentials. I really hope they make you as excited for summer as me and maybe you check out one of the books or beauty products.

Lots and lots of love,
Lili xx

Twitter: @castaway_minds

Instagram: @castawayminds

Featured Image source

One thought on “Lilis Summer 2016 Essentials

Leave a comment