Places to Hide

Hey everyone,

I am back after a break that has been way too long, but this semester has just been insanely crazy and with a deadline basically every week I have been insanely stressed. But this is now over, at least for a bit.

Today I want to talk to you about the world. I mean, you are probably thinking, jeez Katie, couldn’t you be any more specific. And you are right.
Well unless you are already ahead of me and have found the perfect hiding place and are now living under a rock, you will have noticed that there are a few minor things going on in the world currently. Like the Simpsons predicting the next president of the US, or a very creative guy in Turkey that finds a reason to arrest kind of everyone, and this minor war that has been going on for a very short period of time in Syria and oh yeah there has also been this weird thing called Brexit. Plus these are probably only the very, very few things that are shown on the news and there is a whole lot more going on.
In addition to the news I had three modules this semester that kind of even enhanced all these things that are going on. I had one that talked about human rights, making us look at all the issues that are currently happening, one on global development aka how the global north fucked over the global south and how we are being to up ourselves to actually do something about it, and one that was about the economy and the environment and the struggles this combination causes (YES, despite what certain people *Trump* may think, CLIMATE CHANGE DOES EXIST).
So what I am trying to say that the past 4 months have basically made me lose faith in humanity and the amount of times my friends and I joked about hiding somewhere to escape all of the madness has been incredible so here are a couple of places we have been planning to go to.

A Remote Island

This has basically been our go to. Remote Island somewhere to make us least accessible to the rest of the world. No internet, no phone reception, no news. This would kind of go into Winnie Pooh logic of if I can’t see you, you can’t see me, but hey, it would be nice. And with taking our friends it surely would be fun. I mean we would probably have to go onto a major book shopping spree beforehand and the amount of food and water supplies we would initially need before we can actually be self-sufficient would be huge, but hey ho we will learn and make it work, right?
Only issue might be that some of the remote islands are prone to earthquakes, flooding or are volcanic, but I am sure we can find one that is accessible, right?

4207-34355  source

A Cave

Next suggestion we came across was a cave. I mean, yeah that sounds like a decent idea, it is giving you shelter and maybe if we are deep enough within a mountain we would be able to survive nuclear wars and stuff. And as an avid reader of dystopian novels I have faith that we are going to be capable of creating underground farms and be self sufficient. I mean the dwarfs in the Eragon books live mostly within a mountain, so why should we not be able to do this. Plus in other books there are plenty of underground labs and in the Gender Game there is an underground farm, so I am sure we will be fine. Plus a cave could be quite comfy with the right equipment and I mean if you think of the Hunger Games all of district 13 is underground too, maybe not the best example for comfiness but they are making it work. So it definitely is a valid option.

cave2a source

Flying to the Moon

This is an option that my brother has often suggested to me. He may have had other motives, but I am sure he only had my best interest at heart. Again there are plenty of films that kind of describe the whole leaving Earth to find a better planet thing, plus there are already talks of moon tourism, so maybe some of us can already go ahead and try to build a life there and escape the doom that may await us on Earth?

spacecraft-flying-near-the-moon source

Cabin/ Treehouse in the woods

This is my last suggestion. It is another one that me and my friends have thought about quite a lot. I mean our first choice of country for this plan is Canada, because I mean you got plenty of woods and mountains, plus a reasonable government so it doesn’t sound too bad yet. Then we have been thinking about finding either a treehouse or a cabin or maybe even a farm that is just really remote to hide out from all the madness.
Like I mean it could be cosy and cute. Treehouse is probably my favourite solution. Like I have been googling some and there are some really cool ones out there. As for those saying it might get really cold in winter giving that I want it to be in Canada, I am saying you clearly do not know me well enough. First of all, there will be a fire place, duh. So there is a source of heating, plus a possibility to make tea and hot chocolate and soup and food to warm us. Plus, I have been known for owning too many blankets and pillows and I am an advocate of onesies and then cuddling with your friends, it would be rather cosy and cute than freezing and awful.

275px-the_treehouse_-_geograph-org-uk_-_32426  23a1500e00000578-2855930-the_idyllic_headwaters_camp_guest_cabin_looks_as_though_it_belon-31_1417441665501

Source                                                              Source

Anyways, let us know what your favourite plan to escape the craziness of the world at the moment would be!

Lots of Love,

Katie xx

 

Featured Image Source

Leave a Reply

